2009 Minnesota Vikings schedule

Season statistics

Offense Defense
Record Playoff record Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs
12-4-0 1-1 6872 4680 2192 23 390 5393 3839 1554 28 302
Scroll the table for more season statistics.

The Minnesota Vikings' forty-ninth season was in 2009, and it was the fourth season Brad Childress served as the head coach of the team. They finished the year 12-4-0 in the regular season and 1-1 in the playoffs, eventually losing to the New Orleans Saints 31-28. At the end of the season, Percy Harvin was awarded with the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year award.


Week Opponent Score Notes
Preaseason Week 1 @ Indianapolis Colts 13-3
Preaseason Week 2 Kansas City Chiefs 17-13
Preaseason Week 3 @ Houston Texans 17-10
Preaseason Week 4 Dallas Cowboys 31-35
Week 1 @ Cleveland Browns 34-20
Week 2 @ Detroit Lions 27-13
Week 3 San Francisco 49ers 27-24
Week 4 Green Bay Packers 30-23
Week 5 @ St. Louis Rams 38-10
Week 6 Baltimore Ravens 33-31
Week 7 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 17-27
Week 8 @ Green Bay Packers 38-26
Week 9 Bye Week
Week 10 Detroit Lions 27-10
Week 11 Seattle Seahawks 35-9
Week 12 Chicago Bears 36-10
Week 13 @ Arizona Cardinals 17-30
Week 14 Cincinnati Bengals 30-10
Week 15 @ Carolina Panthers 7-26
Week 16 @ Chicago Bears 30-36
Week 17 New York Giants 44-7


Week Opponent Score Notes
Divisional Round Dallas Cowboys 34-3
Conference Championship @ New Orleans Saints 28-31


Head Coach: Brad Childress Offensive Coordinator: Darrell Bevell Defensive Coordinator: Leslie Frazier Special Teams Coordinator: Brian Murphy Quarterbacks Coach: Kevin Rogers Assistant Quarterbacks Coach: Kevin Stefanski Wide Receivers Coach: George Stewart Assistant Wide Receivers Coach: Ryan Ficken Offensive Line Coach: Pat Morris Assistant Offensive Line Coach: Jim Hueber Running Backs Coach: Eric Bieniemy Tight Ends Coach: Jimmie Olden Johnson Jr. Defensive Line Coach: Karl Dunbar, Ryan Silverfield Assistant Defensive Line Coach: Diron Reynolds Linebackers Coach: Fred Pagac Defensive Backs Coach: Joe Woods Assistant Secondary Coach: Derek Mason Defensive Assistant Coach: Jeff Imamura Special Teams Assistant Coach: Jason Glenn Assistant Special Teams Coach: Chris White Offensive Quality Control Coach: Kevin Stefanski Assistant to the Head Coach: Dennis Polian Strength and Conditioning Coach: Tom Kanavy Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach: Martin Streight, Juney Barnett Assistant Director of Player Development: Jason Glenn Scouting Assistant: Kyle Childress Director of Sports Medicine: Eric Sugarman Head Athletic Trainer: Eric Sugarman Assistant Athletic Trainer: Rob Roche