Skip to content

Jimmy Johnson

Cumulative stats (All positions)

Years Coached Record Win % Playoff record Playoff win %
9 80-64-0 55.56% 9-4 69.23%

Coaching Tree



, ,


Jimmy Johnson was a football coach in the National Football League (NFL) from 1989 until 1999, finishing his career with the Miami Dolphins as their head coach. Over his nine years of coaching his teams compiled a cumulative record of 80-64-0. During his career he was a head coach for nine seasons. His first head coaching opportunity came with the Dallas Cowboys. He led the team for five seasons, compiling a record of 44-36-0. During his time leading the Cowboys the team won the Super Bowl in 1992 and 1993. His next head coaching stint came with the Miami Dolphins. He coached the Dolphins from 1996 to 1999, leading the team to a 36-28-0 record during his four seasons as head coach. Johnson won the NFL's Coach of the Year award in 1990 after guiding the Cowboys to a 7-9-0 record and a six-win improvement over the previous season. During the 1990 and 1993 seasons as the head coach of the Dallas Cowboys he coached Emmitt Smith to the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player.


Year Position Record Playoff record
1999 Miami Dolphins Head Coach 9-7-0 1-1
1998 Miami Dolphins Head Coach 10-6-0 1-1
1997 Miami Dolphins Head Coach 9-7-0 0-1
1996 Miami Dolphins Head Coach 8-8-0 0-0
1993 Dallas Cowboys Head Coach 12-4-0 3-0
1992 Dallas Cowboys Head Coach 13-3-0 3-0
1991 Dallas Cowboys Head Coach 11-5-0 1-1
1990 Dallas Cowboys Head Coach 7-9-0 0-0
1989 Dallas Cowboys Head Coach 1-15-0 0-0

Coach history guide

Seasons with a championship win Seasons with a conference championship