Forrest Gregg

Coaching Record

Years Coached Record Win % Playoff record Playoff win %
15 95-120-2 44.24% 2-2 50.00%

Coaching Tree


Phil Bengtson, Nick Skorich, Ron Waller


Raymond Berry, Hank Bullough, Bruce Coslet, Tom Coughlin, Frank Gansz, Lindy Infante, Dick Jauron, Dick LeBeau


Career Summary

Forrest Gregg was a football coach in the National Football League (NFL) from 1969 to 1987, finishing his career as the head coach of the Green Bay Packers. Over his fifteen years of coaching his teams compiled a cumulative win/loss record of 95-121-2. During his career he was a head coach for eleven seasons, first with the Cleveland Browns. He led the Browns for three seasons, compiling a record of 18-24-0. He resigned from the Browns on Wednesday, December 14, 1977. His next head coaching stint was with the Cincinnati Bengals from 1980 to 1983, as he led the team to a 32-25-0 record. His third head coach placement began in 1984 with the Green Bay Packers. He coached them for four seasons and the team had a 25-37-1 record during his tenure. During his entire head coaching career, his three teams combined for a record of 75-86-1 across eleven seasons including going 2-2-0 in the playoffs.

Gregg was enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1977 after his playing career.

Career Awards

Gregg won the NFL's Coach of the Year award in 1976 after guiding the Browns to a 9-5-0 record and a 6-win improvement over the previous season. During the 1981 season as the head coach of the Cincinnati Bengals he coached Ken Anderson to the Most Valuable Player, AP Offensive Player of the Year, and Comeback Player of the Year.

Forrest Gregg Coaching Tree

Before he was a head coach, Gregg served as an assistant coach for Phil Bengtson, Ron Waller, and Nick Skorich. Two of these years were spent on Bengtson's coaching staff. During his time as head coach, eight assistant coaches, (Raymond Berry, Hank Bullough, Frank Gansz, Lindy Infante, Dick LeBeau, Bruce Coslet, Tom Coughlin, and Dick Jauron) on his coaching staff were hired as head coaches across the league. His coaching tree has combined for a record of 369-456-1 in the regular season and 15-12 in the playoffs during their fifty-three seasons as head coach after serving on his coaching staffs. The coaching tree has combined for two championships, most recently in 2011 by the New York Giants, led by Tom Coughlin.


Year Position Record Playoff record
1987 Green Bay Packers Head Coach 5-9-1 0-0
1986 Green Bay Packers Head Coach 4-12-0 0-0
1985 Green Bay Packers Head Coach 8-8-0 0-0
1984 Green Bay Packers Head Coach 8-8-0 0-0
1983 Cincinnati Bengals Head Coach 7-9-0 0-0
1982 Cincinnati Bengals Head Coach 7-2-0 0-1
1981 Cincinnati Bengals Head Coach 12-4-0 2-1
1980 Cincinnati Bengals Head Coach 6-10-0 0-0
1977 Cleveland Browns Head Coach 6-7-0 0-0
1976 Cleveland Browns Head Coach 9-5-0 0-0
1975 Cleveland Browns Head Coach 3-11-0 0-0
1974 Cleveland Browns Offensive Line Coach 4-10-0 0-0
1973 San Diego Chargers Offensive Line Coach 2-11-1 0-0
1970 Green Bay Packers Offensive Line Coach 6-8-0 0-0
1969 Green Bay Packers Offensive Line Coach 8-6-0 0-0

Coach history guide

Seasons with a championship win Seasons with a conference championship

Coach facts