Jack Pardee

Coaching Record

Years Coached Record Win % Playoff record Playoff win %
11 87-77-0 53.05% 1-5 16.67%

Coaching Tree


Jeff Fisher, Kevin Gilbride, Mike Munchak, Chris Palmer, Richie Petitbon, Joe Walton, Gregg Williams


Table of Contents

Career Summary

Jack Pardee was a football coach in the National Football League (NFL) from 1975 to 1994, finishing his career as the head coach of the Houston Oilers. Over his eleven years of coaching his teams compiled a cumulative win/loss record of 88-82-0. During his career he was a head coach for eleven seasons, first with the Chicago Bears. He led the Bears for three seasons, compiling a record of 20-22-0. His next head coaching stint was with the Washington Redskins from 1978 to 1980, as he led the team to a 24-24-0 record. He was fired from the Redskins on Tuesday, January 6, 1981. His third head coach placement began in 1990 with the Houston Oilers. He coached them for five seasons and the team had a 44-36-0 record during his tenure. During his entire head coaching career, his three teams combined for a record of 88-82-0 across eleven seasons including going 1-5-0 in the playoffs.

Career Awards

Pardee won the NFL's Coach of the Year award in 1979 after guiding the Redskins to a 10-6-0 record and a 2-win improvement over the previous season. As the head coach of the Chicago Bears he coached one player to award-winning seasons: Walter Payton, AP Offensive Player of the Year in 1977; Walter Payton, Most Valuable Player in 1977. As the head coach of the Washington Redskins he coached one player to an award-winning season: John Riggins, Comeback Player of the Year in 1978. As the head coach of the Houston Oilers he coached one player to an award-winning season: Warren Moon, AP Offensive Player of the Year in 1990.

Jack Pardee Coaching Tree

During his time as head coach, seven assistant coaches, (Joe Walton, Richie Petitbon, Kevin Gilbride, Chris Palmer, Gregg Williams, Jeff Fisher, and Mike Munchak) on his coaching staff were hired as head coaches across the league. His coaching tree has combined for a record of 279-329-2 in the regular season and 6-8 in the playoffs during their thirty-nine seasons as head coach after serving on his coaching staffs.

Personal Information

Pardee was born on Sunday, April 19, 1936 in Exira, Iowa. He died on Monday, April 1, 2013 at the age of 76.


Year Position Record Playoff record
1994 Houston Oilers Head Coach 1-9-0 0-0
1993 Houston Oilers Head Coach 12-4-0 0-1
1992 Houston Oilers Head Coach 10-6-0 0-1
1991 Houston Oilers Head Coach 11-5-0 1-1
1990 Houston Oilers Head Coach 9-7-0 0-1
1980 Washington Redskins Head Coach 6-10-0 0-0
1979 Washington Redskins Head Coach 10-6-0 0-0
1978 Washington Redskins Head Coach 8-8-0 0-0
1977 Chicago Bears Head Coach 9-5-0 0-1
1976 Chicago Bears Head Coach 7-7-0 0-0
1975 Chicago Bears Head Coach 4-10-0 0-0

Coach history guide

Seasons with a championship win Seasons with a conference championship

Coach facts

  • Years as head coach: 11
  • Coach of the Year: 1979
  • Led the league in wins: 1993
  • Fourth in total wins for the Tennessee Titans.
  • Second in winning percentage for the Tennessee Titans.
  • Fourth in winning percentage for the Washington Commanders.
  • Past teams coached for: Houston Oilers, Washington Redskins, Chicago Bears
  • Date of Birth: Sunday, April 19, 1936 (76 years old), Exira, Iowa
  • Jack Pardee only coach to helm a team in NCAA/NFL/USFL/WFL/CFL.