2008 New Orleans Saints schedule

Season statistics

Offense Defense
Record Playoff record Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs
8-8-0 0-0 6571 4977 1594 26 354 5432 3547 1885 22 300
Scroll the table for more season statistics.

The New Orleans Saints' forty-second season was in 2008, and it was the third season Sean Payton served as the head coach of the team. The Saints played their home games at Louisiana Superdome. They finished the season 8-8-0, 6-2-0 at home and 2-6-0 on the road. At the end of the season, Drew Brees was awarded with the AP Offensive Player of the Year award.


Week Opponent Score Notes
Week 1 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 24-20
Week 2 @ Washington Redskins 24-29
Week 3 @ Denver Broncos 32-34
Week 4 San Francisco 49ers 31-17
Week 5 Minnesota Vikings 27-30
Week 6 Oakland Raiders 34-3
Week 7 @ Carolina Panthers 7-30
Week 8 San Diego Chargers 37-32
Week 10 @ Atlanta Falcons 20-34
Week 11 @ Kansas City Chiefs 30-20
Week 12 Green Bay Packers 51-29
Week 13 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 20-23
Week 14 Atlanta Falcons 29-25
Week 15 @ Chicago Bears 24-27
Week 16 @ Detroit Lions 42-7
Week 17 Carolina Panthers 31-33

2008 New Orleans Saints Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Sean Payton Assistant Head Coach: Joe Vitt Offensive Coordinator: Doug Marrone Defensive Coordinator: Gary Gibbs Special Teams Coordinator: Greg McMahon Quarterbacks Coach: Pete Carmichael Jr. Wide Receivers Coach: Curtis Johnson Running Backs Coach: Aaron Kromer Tight Ends Coach: Terry Malone Offensive Assistant Coach: Joe Lombardi Defensive Line Coach: Ed Orgeron Linebackers Coach: Joe Vitt Secondary Coach: Dennis Allen Assistant Defensive Line Coach: Travis Jones Assistant Secondary Coach: Tony Oden Assistant Special Teams Coach: Mike Mallory Coaching Assistant: Adam Zimmer, Carter Sheridan, Mike Cerullo, Joe Alley Head Strength and Conditioning Coach: Dan Dalrymple Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach: Charles Byrd, Adam Bailey Owner: Tom Benson General Manager: Mickey Loomis Executive Vice President: Mickey Loomis Video Assistant: Marcus Ungaro