Dick Vermeil

Coaching Record

Years Coached Record Win % Playoff record Playoff win %
19 157-126-2 55.44% 6-7 46.15%

Coaching Tree


George Allen, Chuck Knox, Tommy Prothro


Mike Martz, Rod Rust


Table of Contents

Career Summary

Dick Vermeil was a football coach in the National Football League (NFL) from 1969 to 2005, finishing his career as the head coach of the Kansas City Chiefs. Over his nineteen years of coaching his teams compiled a cumulative win/loss record of 157-126-2. During his career he was a head coach for fifteen seasons, first with the Philadelphia Eagles. He led the Eagles for seven seasons, compiling a record of 54-47-0. He resigned from the Eagles on Tuesday, January 11, 1983. His next head coaching stint was with the St. Louis Rams from 1997 to 1999, as he led the team to a 22-26-0 record. In 1999, the Rams won the Super Bowl against the Tennessee Titans 23-16. He retired from the Rams on Wednesday, February 2, 2000. His third head coach placement began in 2001 with the Kansas City Chiefs. He coached them for five seasons and the team had a 44-36-0 record during his tenure. He retired from the Chiefs. During his entire head coaching career, his three teams combined for a record of 120-109-0 across fifteen seasons including going 6-5-0 in the playoffs.

Career Awards

Vermeil won the NFL's Coach of the Year award in 1999 after guiding the Rams to a 13-3-0 record and a a victory in Super Bowl XXXIV. As the head coach of the St. Louis Rams he coached two players to award-winning seasons: Marshall Faulk, AP Offensive Player of the Year in 1999; Kurt Warner, Most Valuable Player in 1999. As the head coach of the Kansas City Chiefs he coached one player to an award-winning season: Priest Holmes, AP Offensive Player of the Year in 2002.

Dick Vermeil Coaching Tree

Before he was a head coach, Vermeil served as an assistant coach for George Allen, Tommy Prothro, and Chuck Knox. Two of these years were spent on Prothro's coaching staff. During his time as head coach, two assistant coaches, (Rod Rust and Mike Martz) on his coaching staff were hired as head coaches across the league. His coaching tree has combined for a record of 58-54-0 in the regular season and 3-4 in the playoffs during their seven seasons as head coach after serving on his coaching staffs.

Personal Information

Vermeil was born on Friday, October 30, 1936 in Calistoga, California.


Year Position Record Playoff record
2005 Kansas City Chiefs Head Coach 10-6-0 0-0
2004 Kansas City Chiefs Head Coach 7-9-0 0-0
2003 Kansas City Chiefs Head Coach 13-3-0 0-1
2002 Kansas City Chiefs Head Coach 8-8-0 0-0
2001 Kansas City Chiefs Head Coach 6-10-0 0-0
1999 St. Louis Rams Head Coach 13-3-0 3-0
1998 St. Louis Rams Head Coach 4-12-0 0-0
1997 St. Louis Rams Head Coach 5-11-0 0-0
1982 Philadelphia Eagles Head Coach 3-6-0 0-0
1981 Philadelphia Eagles Head Coach 10-6-0 0-1
1980 Philadelphia Eagles Head Coach 12-4-0 2-1
1979 Philadelphia Eagles Head Coach 11-5-0 1-1
1978 Philadelphia Eagles Head Coach 9-7-0 0-1
1977 Philadelphia Eagles Head Coach 5-9-0 0-0
1976 Philadelphia Eagles Head Coach 4-10-0 0-0
1975 UCLA Bruins Head Coach 9-2-1
1974 UCLA Bruins Head Coach 6-3-2
1973 Los Angeles Rams Offensive Backs Coach / Special Teams Coach 12-2-0 0-1
1972 Los Angeles Rams Quarterbacks Coach 6-7-1 0-0
1971 Los Angeles Rams Quarterbacks Coach 8-5-1 0-0
1970 UCLA Bruins Offensive Coordinator 6-5-0
1969 Los Angeles Rams Special Teams Coach 11-3-0 0-1
1965 Stanford Indians Assistant Coach 6-3-1

Coach history guide

Seasons with a championship win Seasons with a conference championship

Coach facts

  • Years as head coach: 15
  • Championships won: 1999
  • Conference Championships won: 1980 and 1999
  • Coach of the Year: 1999
  • Led the league in wins: 1973, 1980
  • Third in total wins for the Philadelphia Eagles.
  • Fourth in total wins for the Kansas City Chiefs.
  • Fourth in winning percentage for the Kansas City Chiefs.
  • Past teams coached for: Kansas City Chiefs, St. Louis Rams, Philadelphia Eagles
  • College Attended: San Jose State Spartans
  • Date of Birth: Friday, October 30, 1936 (87 years old), Calistoga, California
  • Dick Vermeil was the first ever Special Teams coach in the NFL