1998 Minnesota Vikings schedule

Season statistics

Offense Defense
Record Playoff record Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs
15-1-0 1-1 7036 4810 2226 23 387 5809 4011 1798 39 348
Scroll the table for more season statistics.

The Minnesota Vikings' thirty-eighth season was in 1998, and it was the seventh season Dennis Green served as the head coach of the team. They finished the year 15-1-0 in the regular season and 1-1 in the playoffs, eventually losing to the Atlanta Falcons 30-27. At the end of the season, Randy Moss was awarded with the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year award.


Week Opponent Score Notes
Week 1 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 31-7
Week 2 @ St. Louis Rams 38-31
Week 3 Detroit Lions 29-6
Week 4 @ Chicago Bears 31-28
Week 5 @ Green Bay Packers 37-24
Week 7 Washington Redskins 41-7
Week 8 @ Detroit Lions 34-13
Week 9 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 24-27
Week 10 New Orleans Saints 31-24
Week 11 Cincinnati Bengals 24-3
Week 12 Green Bay Packers 28-14
Week 13 @ Dallas Cowboys 46-36
Week 14 Chicago Bears 48-22
Week 15 @ Baltimore Ravens 38-28
Week 16 Jacksonville Jaguars 50-10
Week 17 @ Tennessee Oilers 26-16


Week Opponent Score Notes
Divisional Round Arizona Cardinals 41-21
Conference Championship Atlanta Falcons 27-30


Head Coach: Dennis Green Offensive Coordinator: Brian Billick Defensive Coordinator: Foge Fazio Special Teams Coordinator: Gary Zauner Quarterbacks Coach: Phillip "Chip" Myers Wide Receivers Coach: Hubbard Alexander Offensive Line Coach: Mike Tice Running Backs Coach: Carl Hargrave Tight Ends Coach: Dave Atkins Defensive Line Coach: Andre Patterson Linebackers Coach: Tom Olivadotti Outside Linebackers Coach: Trent Walters Coaching Assistant: Wade Harman Strength and Conditioning Coach: Steve Wetzel Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach: Jeff Friday Coaches Secretary: Kirsten Lindberg Bill Walsh Minority Fellowship: Alex Wood