1977 Dallas Cowboys schedule

Season statistics

Offense Defense
Record Playoff record Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs
12-2-0 3-0 5830 2915 2915 31 325 3807 1888 1919 50 243
Scroll the table for more season statistics.

The Dallas Cowboys' eighteenth season was in 1977, and it was the eighteenth season Tom Landry served as the head coach of the team. The Cowboys played their home games at Texas Stadium. They finished the year 12-2-0 in the regular season, en route to winning the NFC East, and 3-0 in the playoffs eventually winning the NFL championship against the Denver Broncos 27-10, the team's second championship win. At the end of the season Tony Dorsett earned AP Offensive Rookie of the Year; Harvey Martin earned Super Bowl Most Valuable Player and AP Defensive Player of the Year; and Randy White earned Super Bowl Most Valuable Player.


Week Opponent Score Notes
Week 1 @ Minnesota Vikings 16-10
Week 2 New York Giants 41-21
Week 3 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 23-7
Week 4 @ St. Louis Cardinals 30-24
Week 5 Washington Redskins 34-16
Week 6 @ Philadelphia Eagles 16-10
Week 7 Detroit Lions 37-0
Week 8 @ New York Giants 24-10
Week 9 St. Louis Cardinals 17-24
Week 10 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 13-28
Week 11 @ Washington Redskins 14-7
Week 12 Philadelphia Eagles 24-14
Week 13 @ San Francisco 49ers 42-35
Week 14 Denver Broncos 14-6


Week Opponent Score Notes
Divisional Round Chicago Bears 37-7
Conference Championship Minnesota Vikings 23-6
Super Bowl vs. Denver Broncos 27-10

1977 Dallas Cowboys Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Tom Landry Assistant Head Coach: James A. "Jim" Myers Offensive Coordinator: Dan Reeves Defensive Coordinator: Ernie Stautner Wide Receivers Coach: Mike Ditka Offensive Line Coach: James A. "Jim" Myers Offensive Backs Coach: Dan Reeves Defensive Line Coach: Ernie Stautner Linebackers Coach: Jerry Tubbs Defensive Backfield Coach: Gene Stallings Special Teams Coach: Mike Ditka Special Assistant Coach: Ermal Allen Strength and Conditioning Coach: Bob Ward