2005 Indianapolis Colts schedule

Season statistics

Offense Defense
Record Playoff record Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs
14-2-0 0-1 6104 4343 1761 19 378 5208 3334 1874 33 290
Scroll the table for more season statistics.

The Indianapolis Colts' fifty-third season was in 2005, and it was the fourth season Tony Dungy served as the head coach of the team. The Colts played their home games at RCA Dome. They finished the year 14-2-0 in the regular season, en route to winning the AFC South, but they lost their first playoff game to the Pittsburgh Steelers 21-18. At the end of the season, Peyton Manning was awarded with the Walter Payton Man of the Year award.


Week Opponent Score Notes
Week 1 @ Baltimore Ravens 24-7
Week 2 Jacksonville Jaguars 10-3
Week 3 Cleveland Browns 13-6
Week 4 @ Tennessee Titans 31-10
Week 5 @ San Francisco 49ers 28-3
Week 6 St. Louis Rams 45-28
Week 7 @ Houston Texans 38-20
Week 9 @ New England Patriots 40-21
Week 10 Houston Texans 31-17
Week 11 @ Cincinnati Bengals 45-37
Week 12 Pittsburgh Steelers 26-7
Week 13 Tennessee Titans 35-3
Week 14 @ Jacksonville Jaguars 26-18
Week 15 San Diego Chargers 17-26
Week 16 @ Seattle Seahawks 13-28
Week 17 Arizona Cardinals 17-13


Week Opponent Score Notes
Divisional Round Pittsburgh Steelers 18-21

2005 Indianapolis Colts Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Tony Dungy Offensive Coordinator: Tom Moore Defensive Coordinator: Ron Meeks Special Teams Coordinator: Russ Purnell Quarterbacks Coach: Jim Caldwell Wide Receivers Coach: Clyde Christensen Offensive Line Coach: Howard Mudd Running Backs Coach: Gene Huey Tight Ends Coach: Ricky Thomas Offensive Quality Control Coach: Pete Metzelaars Defensive Line Coach: John Teerlinck Linebackers Coach: Mike Murphy Defensive Backs Coach: Leslie Frazier, Alan Williams Defensive Quality Control Coach: Diron Reynolds Special Assistant to the Head Coach: Leslie Frazier Strength and Conditioning Coach: Jon Torine Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach: Richard Howell General Manager: Bill Polian Director of Pro Scouting: Tom Telesco