1982 San Diego Chargers schedule

Season statistics

Offense Defense
Record Playoff record Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs
6-3-0 1-1 4774 3428 1346 29 279 4088 2816 1272 29 251
Scroll the table for more season statistics.

The San Diego Chargers' twenty-third season was in 1982, and it was the fifth season Don Coryell served as the head coach of the team. The Chargers played their home games at Jack Murphy Stadium. They finished the year 6-3-0 in the regular season and 1-1 in the playoffs, eventually losing to the Miami Dolphins 34-13. At the end of the season, Dan Fouts was awarded with the AP Offensive Player of the Year award.


Week Opponent Score Notes
Week 1 @ Denver Broncos 23-3
Week 2 @ Kansas City Chiefs 12-19
Week 11 @ Los Angeles Raiders 24-28
Week 12 Denver Broncos 30-20
Week 13 @ Cleveland Browns 30-13
Week 14 @ San Francisco 49ers 41-37
Week 15 Cincinnati Bengals 50-34
Week 16 Baltimore Colts 44-26
Week 17 Los Angeles Raiders 34-41


Week Opponent Score Notes
Wild Card Round @ Pittsburgh Steelers 31-28
Divisional Round @ Miami Dolphins 13-34

1982 San Diego Chargers Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Don Coryell Offensive Coordinator: Larrye Weaver Wide Receivers Coach: Ernie Zampese Offensive Line Coach: Dave Levy Defensive Line Coach: Jerry Smith Linebackers Coach: Chuck Weber Special Teams Coach: Marv Braden