Akron Indians History

The Akron Indians were a professional football team from 1920 until 1926, playing their final season in Akron, Ohio.

The Pros have won a single league championship in their history in 1920, led by head coach Elgie Tobin.

Akron Indians by the Decades


The Akron Indians' inaugural season was 1920 as the Akron Pros. During the decade, the Pros had a record of 27-26-11 during the regular season and not a single game in the playoffs. They won zero division titles. They won one league championship in 1920. In 1926, the Pros changed their name from the Akron Pros to the Akron Indians.

Akron Indians Head Coaching History

Head Coach Years Record Win percentage Playoff record
Al Nesser 1926 0-1-1 25.0% 0-0
Frank Nied 1926 1-3-2 33.3% 0-0
Scotty Bierce 1925 4-2-2 62.5% 0-0
Wayne Brenkert 1923-1924 3-12-0 20.0% 0-0
Untz Brewer 1922 3-5-2 40.0% 0-0
Elgie Tobin 1920 8-0-3 86.4% 0-0

Franchise history

Franchise history guide

Seasons with a championship win Seasons with a conference championship