NFL 2023: Spotlight on Awards Races

December 16th, 2023

With less than two months left, the NFL is approaching the end of another exhilarating season, marked by intense competition and standout performances, which bring the spotlight onto various award races and the potential head coach candidates for 2024.

NFL Awards Race Analysis

Let’s take a look at the NFL awards race as it stands:

Most Valuable Player (MVP)

In the MVP race, the odds from various sports betting online platforms have Lamar Jackson of the Baltimore Ravens standing out with impressive odds of +400. Jackson's consistent ability to stress defenses has been a pivotal factor in his favor, as observed by both fans and sports betting enthusiasts.

Tied for second place are Jalen Hurts of the Philadelphia Eagles and Patrick Mahomes of the Kansas City Chiefs, with their performances closely monitored by the sports betting online community. Their leadership and statistical achievements have significantly influenced betting odds and discussions in online sports betting forums.

Offensive Player of the Year

The Offensive Player of the Year category is fiercely contested, with Tyreek Hill of the Miami Dolphins. Hill's profound impact on the Dolphins' offense, combined with his historic performance this season, underscores his exceptional ability as a wide receiver.

Christian McCaffrey, A.J. Brown, Jalen Hurts, and Lamar Jackson trail in the subsequent ranks, each bringing unique skills and game-changing performances that have significantly influenced their teams' offensive prowess.

Defensive Player of the Year

The Defensive Player of the Year race is dominated by Myles Garrett of the Cleveland Browns. Recognized for his disruptive pass-rushing and significant role in the Browns' overall defensive improvement, Garrett has been a force to reckon with.

His athletic prowess and strategic acumen on the field make him a standout player. Following him are Micah Parsons and T.J. Watt, who have also displayed exceptional defensive skills and have been a vital asset to their NFL teams.

Offensive Rookie of the Year

C.J. Stroud of the Houston Texans is the leading candidate, with his impressive performance as a rookie quarterback.

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Jalen Carter of the Philadelphia Eagles leads this category, noted for his significant impact as a defensive tackle. Devon Witherspoon is a notable mention but still trails significantly far behind Carter.

Comeback Player of the Year

Damar Hamlin of the Buffalo Bills is the leading candidate, recognized for his incredible return to football after suffering a cardiac arrest last season. Tua Tagovailoa and others follow in this category.

Coach of the Year

For the Coach of the Year, Dan Campbell of the Detroit Lions is the frontrunner, acknowledged for transforming the Lions into a competitive and physical team. His coaching style, marked by resilience and innovation, has been pivotal in reviving the Lions' fortunes and instilling a new spirit in the team.


The NFL Awards race of 2023 encapsulates the essence of competitive sports - talent, determination, and excellence. As the season concludes, these awards not only honor individual achievements but also celebrate the spirit of teamwork and the relentless pursuit of greatness that defines the NFL. Each candidate, with their unique contributions and remarkable performances, has left an indelible mark on the league, setting the stage for an exciting and dynamic future in American football.

Follow us on Twitter: