1982 Washington Redskins schedule

Season statistics

Offense Defense
Record Playoff record Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs Total yards Pass yards Rush yards Turnovers First downs
8-1-0 4-0 4426 2494 1932 19 248 3757 2476 1281 34 216
Scroll the table for more season statistics.

The Washington Redskins' fifty-first season was in 1982, and it was the second season Joe Gibbs served as the head coach of the team. The Redskins played their home games at RFK Stadium. They finished the year 8-1-0 in the regular season and 4-0 in the playoffs eventually winning the NFL championship against the Miami Dolphins 27-17, the team's third championship win. At the end of the season Joe Gibbs earned Coach of the Year; Joe Theismann earned Man of the Year; and John Riggins earned Super Bowl Most Valuable Player.


Week Opponent Score Notes
Week 1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 37-34
Week 2 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 21-13
Week 11 @ New York Giants 27-17
Week 12 Philadelphia Eagles 13-9
Week 13 Dallas Cowboys 10-24
Week 14 @ St. Louis Cardinals 12-7
Week 15 New York Giants 15-14
Week 16 @ New Orleans Saints 27-10
Week 17 St. Louis Cardinals 28-0


Week Opponent Score Notes
Wild Card Round Detroit Lions 31-7
Divisional Round Minnesota Vikings 21-7
Conference Championship Dallas Cowboys 31-17
Super Bowl vs. Miami Dolphins 27-17

1982 Washington Redskins Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Joe Gibbs Assistant Head Coach: Dan Henning Defensive Coordinator: Richie Petitbon Wide Receivers Coach: Charley Taylor Offensive Line Coach: Joe Bugel Running Backs Coach: Don Breaux Tight Ends Coach: Warren "Rennie" Simmons Offensive Scouting Reports: Warren "Rennie" Simmons Defensive Line Coach: Torgy Torgeson Linebackers Coach: Larry Peccatiello Defensive Scouting Reports: Bill Hickman Special Teams Coach: Wayne Sevier Strength Coach: Dan Riley Administrative Assistant: Bill Hickman